The Different Types of Sidney Prizes

A sidney prize is an award given to people who have made significant contributions to society. They may have done this by helping their communities or contributing to science or arts. These prizes serve to recognize their efforts while simultaneously inspiring others to do the same. There are many different types of sidney prizes, but each one comes with its own set of requirements that must be met in order to win.

The yearly Hillman Foundation Prize for Investigative Reporting is awarded by the left-leaning foundation named in honor of the late labor leader Sidney Hillman. The prize is a monetary reward for “the pursuit of truth, depth of storytelling, and courage in the face of danger.” The prize has previously been awarded to journalists including Jane Mayer for her reporting on the Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America union, which was a precursor to Unite Here and Workers United and SEIU.

In the spirit of Professor Cox’s commitment to supporting the creative work of his students, this prize commemorates a student’s writing that best exemplifies the high standards of excellence and integrity to which he devoted himself in teaching and life. The prize is intended to inspire students to pursue their dreams and to encourage the development of their own unique talents and skills.

Originally established in 1996, the Sydney Prize honours the outstanding essay written by a University of Sydney postgraduate student in any area of metaphysics or epistemology during the year of the prize. This essay will be judged on the basis of its originality and excellence, and, if appropriate, its contribution to current philosophical debate. The prize carries a cash sum of $500.

The Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize is an annual literary award open to Australian authors of any age who have written a short story that explores the theme of travel. This year, the judges – Patrick Lenton, Alice Bishop, and Sara Saleh – selected a shortlist of eight entries from more than 500 submissions. The winners and runners-up will be announced later this year.

The Stuart Rosewarne Prize in Political Economy reflects the innovation of the founder of the journal, Stuart Rosewarne, in developing social theory to support progressive causes and address systemic processes of social exclusion and resistance, particularly around class, race and gender. The Prize will be awarded to a postgraduate research student for an article or thesis that demonstrates this approach.

The Industry Prize has been generously donated by Sydney Film Production Company PTY LTD (T/as Sydney Films). The award assists Master of Moving Image students with the cost of their final project and provides industry experience. To be eligible, students must have completed 48 credit points in their degree and be working on a project that requires the use of production services. The prize is worth $5,000. The winner will be announced in June. The runner-up will receive $3,000 and the third place finisher will receive $1,000.